The Diplomat Hotel during night time. The surrounding is dark but the structure itself was illuminated by few lights.
Baguio Tourist SpotHistory and Culture

History of Diplomat Hotel

The Diplomat Hotel during night time. The surrounding is dark but the structure itself was illuminated by few lights.

Diplomat Hotel during nighttime. The surrounding is dark but the structure itself was illuminated by few lights.

Diplomat Hotel Baguio is undeniably known as one of the most haunted places not just in Baguio City but in the entire Philippines. There were already many documentaries made about this place and many already tried to prove that it’s indeed haunted by ghosts. Most of us who have already visited the Diplomat Hotel may even have our very own eerie experience within the place. But since We are already very aware that it’s haunted or at least said to be haunted, let us know more about the place beyond this point.

The Diplomat Hotel

Today, the Diplomat Hotel is already called Baguio City Heritage Hill and Nature Park, yet, obviously enough, most people, regardless if they are tourists or locals, still call it by the name Diplomat Hotel. The Baguio City Heritage Hill and Nature Park is located at Dominican Hill, Diplomat Road, Baguio City and it is considered one of the historical places here in the City of Pines.

 

The History

A photo of the old photo of the Diplomat Hotel which was hanged on the wall of the structure itself.

A photo of the old photo of the Diplomat Hotel which was hanged on the wall of the structure itself.

The Diplomat Hotel has its very own historical marker which is placed on the wall by the entrance main entrance. And based on the marker, the history of the hotel even dates back to the year 1913. Keep on reading to find out what was the Diplomat Hotel before it became the haunted hotel that we know in the present.

The Dominican Hill and Retreat House

1913 – 1915

Based on the historical marker of the Diplomat Hotel, the structure has been built on the year 1913 and was finished by the year 1915. However, back on those dates, the place was still called the Dominican Hill and Retreat House. During those times, the Dominican Hill and Retreat House served as a vacation house for the Dominicans at Baguio City’s Dominican Hill.

1915 – 1918

Still based on the historical marker given to the hauntingly beautiful structure, by the year 1915 to 1918, the Dominican Hill and Retreat House has been turned into a school called the Collegio del Santissimo Rosario. However, the period in which the structure has been used as a school didn’t last long.

 

1918 – 1940

According to the brief history and time frame placed within the lobby of the old Diplomat Hotel, near the entrance, in the year 1918, the school Collegio del Santissimo Rosario has been converted back to Dominican Hill and Retreat House due to a lack of students.

1940 – 1945

The Refugee Center of the Dominicans

During these years, Baguio City went through a terrible experience. It was then World War II and the structure which was then the Dominican Hill and Retreat House became the Refugee Center of the Dominicans. The structure sheltered those people who were fleeing from the Japanese Forces.

The Japanese Headquarters

Still during this time frame, the Japanese invaded the Refugee Center of the Dominicans and turned it into their headquarters. Nuns and priests within the place were said to have been beheaded and the kids and babies were said to have been massacred. No wonder there are some people who claim that they have seen headless apparitions and have heard random crying sounds. Those apparitions and strange noises might have came way back from this period.

The Liberation of the Philippines

During the liberation of the Philippines in the year 1945, the Americans bombed the structure which was already then a Japanese Headquarters. The Japanese forces on the other hand committed suicide within the place.

1945 – 1948

Within this time frame, the structure which has sustained damages from the bombing undergone rehabilitation until it has been reconstructed.

 

1972 – 1986

If you are still wondering where the structure got its name – Diplomat Hotel, well, the structure got it within this time frame. The Diplomat Hotels Corporation acquired the place and transformed it into a hotel and that’s when it became known as the Diplomat Hotel. Antonio Agapito “Tony” Agpaoa, a businessman, a psychic surgeon, and a spiritual healer, was the one who then manages the place. Unfortunately, Tony Agpaoa suffered a heart attack and died in the year 1987. Since Agapao’s death, the Diplomat Hotel ceased its operation and it became temporarily closed to the public. 

2004 to this date

From the year 2004 up until the present, although the place is still very well-known by the name Diplomat Hotel, it is already named Baguio City Heritage Hill and Nature Park. Heritage Hill has also been declared a Cultural Property by the National Historical Commission of the Philippines.

Have you already visited the Diplomat Hotel?

That’s the story behind one of the most famous tourist spots in Baguio City. Some people visit the place for its rich history. Some visit the place for its rustic beauty. Some want to set foot within the vicinity of the place to experience something paranormal. And there are those who just want to get a glimpse of the very well-known attraction. But no matter what your reason is for your visit, be responsible enough not to do anything that could damage the place and everything within it.

Got any creepy experiences within the Diplomat Hotel Baguio? Share it with us in the comment section below.

Note: Our walking tours were taken way before the pandemic and the indoors of Diplomat Hotel is currenlty closed to visitors.

 

How do you feel about this?

Happy
2
Sad
1
Shocked
0
Not Sure
0

You may also like

Leave a reply