PH Govt. Recalls Decision to Lift Community Quarantine on 8 Regions

In a press briefing today, the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG) Secretary Eduardo Año clarified that the regions mentioned yesterday as low-risk areas will still be placed under community quarantine.

Low-risk Areas will be placed under the Modified General Community Quarantine

In a press briefing yesterday, Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque enumerated areas that will no longer be placed under community quarantine as they have been classified as low-risk areas under IATF-EID Resolution No. 35.

However, DILG Secretary Año said today that the eight regions will still be placed under community quarantine to address the petition of local executives concerned. He said that the local executives petitioned as they are not yet ready to lift the quarantine over their localities.

Amendment to Place the Regions under Modified GCQ

In light of the petition, the DILG Secretary said that an amendment will be made later on in their IATF meeting which will place the said regions under Modified GCQ instead.

Under the Modified GCQ, Año explained that local executives will be given guidelines to be used for the implementation of the community quarantine and of safety measures to prevent the spread of the virus.

“Magkakaroon pa rin ang ating mga local chief executives ng guidelines kung paano ipapatupad ang Modified GCQ nang sa ganoon, mayroon silang kapangyarihan para matigil ang pag-spread ng virus sa mga lugar na mayroon pa,” Año added.

According to him, without the implementation of a quarantine, there might be a second or third wave. Hence, as of now, no areas in the country will not be under quarantine.

Low-risk Provinces, HUCs, and ICCs to be placed under Modified General Community Quarantine

Here are the following provinces, highly-urbanized cities (HUCs), and independent component cities (ICCs) categorized as low-risk areas which will be placed under Modified GCQ.


Region I

  • Ilocos Norte
  • Ilocos Sur
  • La Union 
  • Pangasinan
  • Dagupan City

Region IV-B

  • Marinduque
  • Occidental Mindoro
  • Oriental Mindoro
  • Romblon
  • Palawan
  • Puerto Princesa City

Region V

  • Albay
  • Camarines Norte
  • Camarines Sur
  • Catanduanes
  • Masbate
  • Sorsogon
  • Legazpi City
  • Naga City



  • Aklan
  • Antique
  • Capiz
  • Guimaras
  • Iloilo
  • Negros Occidental
  • Iloilo City
  • Bacolod City


  • Biliran
  • Eastern Samar
  • Leyte
  • Northern Samar
  • Southern Leyte
  • Ormoc City
  • Tacloban City


Region X

  • Bukidnon
  • Camiguin
  • Lanao del Norte
  • Misamis Occidental
  • Misamis Oriental
  • Cagayan de Oro City


  • North Cotabato
  • South Cotabato
  • Sarangani
  • Sultan Kudarat
  • General Santos City


  • Basilan
  • Lanao del Sur
  • Maguindanao
  • Sulu
  • Tawi-Tawi
  • Cotabato City

SOURCE:  Presidential Communications

RELATED: Areas and Guidelines under General Community Quarantine 

How do you feel about this?

Not Sure

More in:COVID-19

You may also like

Leave a reply