National News

PH Declared Temporary Travel Ban to South Korea

The Philippine Government temporarily banned Filipino tourists from traveling to South Korea due to the novel coronavirus (COVID-19) outbreak in the country.

Travel Ban Exemption

According to Presidential Spokesperson Salvador Panelo, Filipinos who can travel to South Korea are:

  • Overseas Filipino Workers (OFW) returning for work.
  • Students
  • Permanent Residents of South Korea

The exemptions listed above will be exempted provided that they will sign a declaration signifying their knowledge of the risks of traveling to South Korea. Panelo added that all Filipino tourists going to South Korea are not allowed to leave except for the three.

Who can and cannot enter the Philippines?

Approved by the Inter-Agency Task Force (IATF) on Emerging Infectious Diseases, travelers coming from South Korea Province of North Gyeongsang are prohibited to enter the Philippines. Meanwhile, Filipino and foreign travelers who have not been to North Gyeongsang are allowed to enter the Philippines. 

According to the Korea Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (KCDC), the total number of COVID-19 cases recorded in South Korea as of February 26 is 1,146. Now, South Korea is registered as the most number of COVID-19 cases outside of China. 

For the other parts of South Korea, Panelo said that IATF shall conduct a risk assessment of the situation in the said country within 48 hours to analyze whether it is necessary to expand the travel ban

How do you feel about this?

Not Sure

You may also like

Leave a reply