Areas in PH to be Placed under Modified ECQ

Areas in PH to be Placed under Modified ECQ

Under IATF Resolution No. 35 which was discussed by the Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque in a press briefing today, there will be areas in the Philippines that will remain under Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ) while others will transition to other classifications identified.

What is Modified ECQ?

One of the four classifications identified in the press briefing is Modified ECQ. According to Pres. Spokesperson Roque, under Modified ECQ, there will be a few industries which will be allowed to operate in an area up to 50%.

However, he also said that the list of industries to be allowed under this classification is yet to be aannounced tomorrow or in another press briefing later today.

“Ang pagkakaiba po, bubuksan natin unti-unti ang ekonomiya.” 
– Secretary Harry Roque, Presidential Spokesperson, Press Briefing, Tuesday, May 12, 2020

Limited Transportation Service

He has also mentioned that under this classification, limited transportation services will be allowed for workers and those who provide essential goods and services.

“Dahil may pasok na ang ilang mga industriya sa Modified ECQ, magkakaron ng limited transportation services para sa mga papasok sa trabaho at mga magbibigay ng essential goods and services.”

– Secretary Harry Roque, Presidential Spokesperson, Press Briefing, Tuesday, May 12, 2020


Here’s the list of high-risk provinces, highly urbanized cities (HUCs), and independent component cities (ICCs) which shall be placed under Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine from May 16 to May 31, 2020


  • Laguna
  • All HUCs of NCR; and
  • The Municipality of Pateros


  • Cebu City

Proposed General Concept of Zoning

For areas to be placed under Modified ECQ, the recommendations of the National Task Force (NTF) against COVID-19 are adopted in relation to the proposed zoning concept and corresponding qualification and its phased response or intervention.

Pursuant thereto, city/municipal LGUs shall be allowed to declare the classification of barangays based on risk thresholds to be confirmed by Regional Interagency Task Force (RIATF) per EO 112 (s.2020);

Explanation of the Concept of Zoning

The presidential spokesperson said that with the proposed General Concept of Zoning, a barangay, a group of barangays or a zone, will be identified according to the following:

Critical Zone (CrZ) More than 20 Cases
Containment Zone (CZ) Between 1-19 Cases
Buffer Zone (BZ) Without Cases but Contiguous with Localities with Cases
Outside of Buffer Zone (OBZ) Outside of the Buffer Zones Without Confirmed Cases

per 100,000 population in the past 30 days

He also explained that Critical and Containment Zones will remain under ECQ while Buffer and Outside Buffer Zones are areas where specific industries will be allowed to operate.

Appeal for Re-Classification

Under the resolution, it was also mentioned that provinces, HUCs, and ICCs characterized as low, moderate, and high-risk may appeal their classification to the IATF Screening and Validation Committee with the concurrence of the RIATF not later than May 13, 2020.

What are the Differences among ECQ, Modified ECQ, GCQ and Modified GCQ

Area Classification & Interventions


  • Minimum Public Health Standards shall be complied with all the time.
  • Policies and protocols are based on exisitng omnibus guidelines.
ECQ Modified ECQ GCQ Modified GCQ
  • No movement regardless of age & health status
  • Minimal economic activity except for utility services (ie., food, power, water, etc.) and critical economic sector
  • No transportation activity except for utility services
  • Suspension of physical classes
  • Limited movement within zone for obtaining essential services & work.
  • Operation of selected manufacturing and processing plants up to maximum of 50% workforce.
  • Limited transporting services for essential goods & services.
  • Suspension of physical classes
  • Limited movement to service & work within BZ and OBZ
  • Operation of government offices & industries up to maximum of 75% workforce
  • Limited transportation services to support government and private operations
  • Flexible learning arrangements; operate at limited capacities to cater to students
  • Permissive socio-economic activities with minimum public health standards

Sectors Allowed to Operate under Modified ECQ

You can check the list of sectors allowed to operate under Modified ECQ here.

SOURCE: Office of the Presidential Spokesperson


PH To Lift Community Quarantine in Low-Risk COVID-19 Areas after May 15, 2020

Entire Cordillera Administrative Region Will Be Under General Community Quarantine

How do you feel about this?

Not Sure

More in:COVID-19

You may also like

Leave a reply