List of Philippines Holidays and Special Non-working days 2023
Baguio City NewsBenguet NewsCordillera NewsNational NewsTravel

Regular and Special Holidays (Non-Working) Days for the Year 2023






President Ferdinand Marcos Jr. has signed Proclamation No. 90 entitled “Amending Proclamation No. 42 S. 2022, Declaring the Regular Holidays and Special (Non-Working) Days for the year 2023.”

Proclamation No. 90 lists the regular and special (non-working) days in the Philippines. In the proclamation, it can be noted that there were adjustments made in the days declared as a non-working day. These adjustments was justified in the same proclamation which states that “Whereas, there is a need to adjust these holidays pursuant to the principle of holiday economics wherein a longer weekend will help encourage domestic travel and increase tourism expenditures in the country.”

Philippine Holidays 2023

Philippine Holidays 2023




Adjustments made in the declaration of Non-working days

According to the proclamation the following days were added/adjusted: 

  • Added January 2, 2023 as a Non-working day – according to the proclamation “in consideration of the Filipino tradition of visiting relatives and spending time with their families for the occassion, it is but fitting to declare January 2, 2023 (Monday) as an additional special (non-working) day throughout the country.”
  • Added April 10, 2023 as a Non-Working Day – according to the proclamation “…To enable our countrymen to avail of the benefits of a longer weekend, Monday, April 10, 2023, in lieu of Sunday, 9 April 2023 may be declared as a non-working holiday, provided that the historical significance of the Araw ng Kagitingan is maintained”.
  • To adjust non-working day from November 30 to November 27, 2023 – “…Pursuant to RA No. 9492, 27 November 2023 (Monday nearest November 30) may be declared as a non-working holiday while 30 November 2023 (Thursday) may be declared as a working day.





Philippines Regular Holidays and Special Non-Working Days for year 2023

Philippines Regular Holidays 2023

  • New Year’s Day – January 1 (Sunday)
  • Araw ng Kagitingan – April 10 (Monday nearest April 9)
  • Maundy Thursday – April 6
  • Good Friday – April 7
  • Labor Day – May 1 (Monday)
  • Independence Day – June 12 (Monday)
  • National Heroes Day – August 28 (Last Monday of August)
  • Bonifacio Day – November 27 (Monday nearest November 30)
  • Christmas Day – December 25 (Monday)
  • Rizal Day – December 30 (Saturday)

Philippines Special (Non-Working) Days 2023

  • EDSA People Power Revolution Anniversary – February 25 (Saturday)
  • Black Saturday – April 8
  • Ninoy Aquino Day – August 21 (Monday)
  • All Saints’ Day – November 1 (Wednesday)
  • Feast of the Immaculate Conception of Mary – December 8 (Friday)
  • Last Day of the Year – December 31 (Sunday)
  • Additional Special (Non-working) Day – January 2 (Monday)
  • Additional Special (Non-working) Day – November 2 (Thursday)

The Proclamation further states that all other provisions of Proclamation no. 42 S. 2022 shall remain unchanged, valid and existing.

 


 

How do you feel about this?

Happy
1
Sad
0
Shocked
0
Not Sure
0

You may also like

Comments are closed.