Mr. Marcelo Otinguey
Benguet NewsNational News

A Teacher at Kapangan Benguet among the PMCA Outstanding teachers in ASEAN and Timor-Leste

Mr. Marcelo T. Otinguey, currently the Head Teacher V at the Governor Bado-Dangwa Agro-Industrial School has been recognized by the Princess Maha Chakri Award Foundation (PMCA) as one of the outstanding teachers in 11 countries, ASEAN and Timor-Leste.

The PMCA Announcement recognized and highlighted the achievements of Mr. Marcelo T. Otinguey like the certificate of appreciation he received from the Southeast Asian Ministers of Education Organization (SEAMEO) on the video produce for the MOOC (Massive Open Online Course) Teach On: Keeping the Passion Alive. He also received a certification of recognition as the Brigada Eskwela Coordinator, from the Department of Education Cordillera.

Remarkable Achievements

While those accomplishments above were the ones enumerated in the PMCA announcement, Mr. Otinguey also achieved several remarkable milestones in the field of teaching and community building.

Mr. Otinguey organized the Book for the Barrios, a program that aims to collect reading and other educational materials to be donated to primary and secondary schools in the provinces with the ultimate goal of building reading centers.

He also organized and started the Share-a-joy/Share-your-extras campaign to help indigent communities. To help persons with disabilities, he also started the Wheels for Persons-With-Disabilities. This project aims to give wheelchairs or crutches to indigents who need them.

DepEd Secretary Leonor Magtolis Briones commended Mr. Otinguey saying:

“Our teachers like Mr. Otinguey are truly worth emulating. They have made a significant impact on the lives of their learners as they instill knowledge and values to inspire the young generation”.

The PMCA sought to commemorate outstanding teachers whose dedication and internationally recognized achievements have resulted in a significant impact on the students’ lives and a better education system.

Mr. Otinguey will be joined by his co-awardees from different parts of ASEAN and Timor-Leste. Here are the list of the recipients of the PMCA:

Name of Country Name of Award Recipient
Brunei DarussalamPengiran Haji Mohd Wahab Bin Pengiran Haji Abdullah
CambodiaMr. Norn Dary
IndonesiaMs. Khoiriah, M. Pd.
Lao PDRMrs. Sengphet Khounpasert
MalaysiaMr. Norhailmi Abdul Mutalib
MyanmarMr. Kyaw Zing Aung
PhilippinesMr. Marcelo T. Otinguey
SingaporeMr. Yok Joon Meng
ThailandMs. Pratin Leanchumroon
VietnamMs. Ha Anh Phuong
Timor-LesteMr. Vicente Marcal Da Silva

Princess Maha Chakri Award


How do you feel about this?

Not Sure

More in:Benguet News

You may also like

Comments are closed.